Thanks a Lot America!

My wife and I sit on the living room couch watching television while eating a simple lunch. She is an immigrant like me, born and reared in India. She is a woman of tremendous intelligence and of impressively bad taste. We are watching “Real Housewives of Atlanta.”


One white, white-trash woman is having a mean argument with her friend, a black white-trash woman. Both are spilling out of the top of their blouses. The air appears to me to be filled with the smell of acrid estrogen. (I can’t be sure; this is taking place on-screen.) The topic of the argument is who of the two is the greatest ho. It seems to me it’s a matter of fine gradations but I am not expert. It’s all quite wonderful.


The thought strikes me: If I had staid in France instead of emigrating, I would now be watching a replay of a visit of an obscure part of the the Louvre, about some obscure aspect of obscure Etruscan culture. The visit would be commented for French television by a retired lady professor at the Sorbonne, with very short hair plastered to her skull.


Another reason to love America!


And don’t go all supercilious on me, silly woman. I watch the History Channel too. I could give you a lit of its mistakes that would make your hair stand on end. I have read all the books you have read and many you haven’t. I have read books the titles of which you can’t even pronounce. I have even published a couple of books and a number of articles myself. That’s not even counting my short stories. I make established scholars at prestigious universities tear up. You can’t even begin to diss me. American television is great!


Thank you America!


Soon on this blog: Part two of “National Economic Systems: An Introduction for Intelligent Beginners.”

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanks a Lot America!

  1. Pingback: Thanks A Lot America! « Notes On Liberty

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      I am grateful to Notes on Liberty for airing my essays and my stories. I wish that Brand Christensen, the talented, hard-working and often-mistaken editor would include the date of initial posting or publication of the pieces. Thank you.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        Thanks a lot but what’s done? Remember, I thought until I was about 17 that a telephone was two empty cans connected by a string. My family was so poor we could only afford a party line, several cans connected by a string. Those were the good old days!

Leave a Reply

