Blind with Determination: How Liberals Think

I have been trying to understand the pseudo-rationalism of my liberal friend and of my even more numerous former liberal friends. (Liberals are not exactly a very exotic species to me since I spent thirty years in academia.) Many of them are intelligent and they read good stuff. I am coming to the provisional conclusion that the problem is deliberately, severely narrow vision. They see clearly but they don’t see what they don’t want to see. If they opened their eyes wide their fragile view of the world would collapse. In general, they don’t have a plan B for apprehending the world.

This narrow vision goes a way toward explaining the Democratic Party’s paralysis with respect to the terrorist threat. On the one hand, it’s true that the chance of my dying in a terrorist attack is infinitesimal even if my worst fears are realized. On the other hand, the probability that the quality of my life, my ability to enjoy it and the prosperity of my children will decline because of the terrorist threat is about 100%. That’s the part liberals don’t see, with great determination. When a good liberal is having his throat cut by a serial murderer, his last thought is that the assassin must have had an unhappy childhood. And that just might be true.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Socio-Political Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blind with Determination: How Liberals Think

  1. Nick says:

    sometimes i feel like my vision is so wide that it is useless

Leave a Reply

