Leçon d’Anglais # 5

Pour signifier un état élevé mais situationnel de bien-être:

Happy as pig in shit.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in L'Anglais pour de vrai. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Leçon d’Anglais # 5

  1. Rich in Soquel says:

    Vous avez besoin de l’article “a” avant “pig”.

    –Your official proof reader

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Pas du tout, Rich! Sound it out.

      • Rich in Soquel says:

        Hmmm… I spent four years going to college in the middle of farm country in Indiana, and I assure you the expression is “happy as a pig in “.

        The other farm expression you’ve referred to was more commonly phrased “as useless as teats on a boar”.

        To get less than your fair share of something was termed “sucking hind teat”.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        I too spent four years in farm country in Indiana (Bloomington). Besides, I read books. You are a stickler, an extremist, a verbal doctrinaire, which is very useful to others most of the time. I am tempted to manipulate you into proof-reading my memoirs and then, I will over-ride you some of the time.

  2. lipnitzky jeanne says:

    Hey teach’

    Can I still use this expression if I not in a farm-related environnement ?

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      It’s especially recommended in an urban environment. Perfect for the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honore for example. (sorry, no accents on WordPress. I feel naked again. Enjoy yourself.)

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      PS Spread the word. I am not asking for “advertising” in any conventional sense. Just share so I feel my French endeavor is worthwhile.

  3. Ugo Ferro says:

    I am!

Leave a Reply

