The link to my article on illegal immigration is on the right, halfway

toward the bottom of the front page. It’s entitled : “If Mexicans and Americans could cross the border freely.” It you left-click on this, it takes you to a small window showing the first page of the article. Press on this small window directly ignoring a possible warning that the page cannot be displayed.

My co-author and I put a lot of work into gathering data, writing this piece and getting it accepted by a respected, competitive journal. So, we appreciate comments and criticisms.

This invite follows a spirited discussion on my radio show today: Facts Matter, on ksco 1080 AM, 11 am to 1 pm. The  discussion strengthened two impressions that have been on my mind for a while. First, the native-born imagine that legal immigration is much easier than it actually is. Second, my co-author, Sergey, and I may be the only ones to-date to have examinesdrationally the open border strategy.

The topic of illegal immigration unleashes passions and even fury, and some of the worst instincts on the Right: One caller today expressed twice his frustration at the fact, that I, an immigrants, would give myself permission to give an opinion on immigration. I ended up hanging up on him to avoid falling afoul of  federal authorities through my choice of words. (I was thinking of advising him to commit on his own person an anatomically difficult act.) As usual, the Left does not have anything to contribute. It does not think but is content to think warm, touchy-feely thoughts without regard for implementation and its consequences.

Overall, this is a good time to try to think things through  rationally and to apply some imagination to our problems.

To those of you who don’t like big government: Try to be consistent. Please!

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Socio-Political Essays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The link to my article on illegal immigration is on the right, halfway

  1. Gary says:

    Jacques
    I appreciated your thoughts but do take issue on a number of things. I would express all of them by asking a rather simple set of questions:

    Thanks. My responses in italics.

    What is sovereignty and why is it needed?

    Control of one’s territory and therefore of the right to enter it.

    What is a distinction as it pertains to belief, especially a faith based belief?

    Is there a connection between such belief distinctions and borders? Is that not why borders
    exist?

    I don’t understand the two previous question. Re-phrase, please.

    Why is it that we see the need to extinguish all
    distinctions?

    We don’t need to extinguish all distinctions. I think Mexicans are blending in, including the illegals, just like the Irish, the Jews, the Chinese, the Italians, before them. I believe in American exceptionalism without reservation.

    If there are no distinct distinctions does truth itself exist?

    N/A

    Is political correctness not the impetus for all belief systems to meld and dissipate?

    Beliefs change with or without political correctness. The latter is poisonous for other reasons. It’s a barrier to free inquiry.

    If so do we not end up with a huge problem; that we try to enforce the pc “its all good” mantra when as soon as you try to enforce it – *IT* too becomes an absolute – thus re-triggering the sociological cycle of enforcements all over again?

    “It” is not all good. For example, we should kill as many as possible of the people who keep threatening to kill us. Political correctness as applied to the identity of men and women is an intellectual fraud. And so forth.

    So. Seems to me that the whole discussion at the point that we refuse to see the need for law itself and its inherent borders and distinctions becomes moot psychobabble. If we cannot see our need for law to be something inaccessible and absolute and thus completely selfless, we will endlessly struggle
    to be some kind of “top dog”.
    This is why I am not an atheist and believe that political correctness is the “virus” that has been turned out into society to undermine intellect and secure some very major “top dog” positions that will ensure that freedom like this will never again be accessible outside of truths Real Owner (who IS Truth) stepping in and retaking possession. Possession of truth and those who saw it as distinct.

    I am an atheist. What are you going to do? Stop talking to me? Impose a special unbeliever’s tax on me? Burn me at the stake? In this democracy, you can’t get your way, even a little bit, without forming alliance with others with whom you disagree on some points. I know I do.

    If you have the time, why don’t you read my paper where I develop arguments against the arguments opposed to border opening for Mexicans? I also indicate in it the limitations of the idea.

    Thanks

    JD

  2. Scott cochran says:

    What is the phone number for ksco? I can’t get reception this side of the hill but might want to call in

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      I hear you get reception on-line easily for my show, “Facts Matter” every Sunday, 11 am to 1 pm on KSCO Santa Cruz 1080 AM. The call number is: 831 479 1080.

Leave a Reply

