A Good Book

I recommended a book on my radio show last Sunday, yesterday. (“Facts Matter” on KSCO Santa Cruz 1080 AM, Sundays 11am to 1pm .) A listener asked me to put the reference up on this blog. Here it is:

Paynes, James L. 2010. Six Political Illusions; A Primer on Government for Idealists Fed up With History Repeating Itself. Lytton Publishing. Sandpoint, Idaho.

Make a note that I rarely recommend books without being asked to do so by listeners or readers. Every recommendation creates a burden of sorts, if ever so slight a burden, I think. Personally, I have a thousand books I would like to read but will not before I die. Steal my reading time, steal my life!

I like Paynes’ book because it does in a few pages what others do less well with many more pages. (It’s 125 pages divided in six concise chapters. ) It’s clearly written. It explains well important issues of government that many think complex. I recommend it to everyone but especially to university students at all levels, to working people who would like to read more on politics but don’t have the time, to people who suspect they are libertarians at heart but are not sure. I would also recommend it to bright high school students not afflicted by testosterone poisoning and to open-minded left-liberals if there were any.

About Jacques Delacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Socio-Political Essays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

