The Tea-Party Victories, the President and I

Sweeping Tea-Party supporters victories plus Rep. Governor of New Jersey makes unions cry by talking frankly to them.

Liberals don’t understand what’s going on and that’s understandable. If you spend months spewing condescension on a group of people, you will probably end up believing yourself. Plus, the impending catastrophe is beyond their ability to process.

The Republican establishment does not seem to understand much better. Many within it seem shocked that unknown backed by a non-existent Tea Party kick their asses. Only exception is Michael Steele, Republican National Committee Chairman who is wisely in hiding. I always said he was a smart man, just too much of a gentleman to get down in the gutter and gouge eyes when that’s needed.

I want to help by explaining to both liberals and Establishment Reps what ails them. Won’t take long; that’s why it eludes them.

First, many Americans, conservatives, independents, and increasingly registered Democrats, hate with a passion the Federal Government taking their livelihood by force and setting their children into debt to support social program that they don’t approve of.

The fact that this is done with massive waste of resources and the fact that the programs don’t even do what they are supposed to do make them even more angry

Second, many Americans want something to be done quickly and energetically about illegal immigration in general and about the porousness of our southern borders to Mexico’s troubles. (I don’t necessarily share this priority; I am just translating the obvious.)

Third, they want whoever speaks for our country to stop kissing the asses of terrorists states and of friends of terrorists, even inactive friends of terrorists.

What’s so hard to understand?

And, no, again, the problem is not that the President is an alleged “black man.” He is not, by the way, just the accidental byproduct of 70s haphazard hippie coupling. (I don’t knock it; I was doing it too.) Also, he does not understand America well because he spent his formative years abroad. I did too. I can identify with the man, perched on his tippy-toes on a small rock with the tide coming up fast.

And, by the way, my fellow conservatives and my fellow libertarians-leaners, President Obama is no monster. He is an obstinate man of average intelligence and of average education who is out of his depth. I know how he feels; I would too. The main difference is that I have pretty good taste in my choice of advisers and that often, I pay attention to what they have to say.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Tea-Party Victories, the President and I

  1. Lawrence Marcus says:

    Dear Jacque;
    Having not grown up during your formative years in the U.S., I believe you are you are missing a major point about our President and giving him way too much credit as far as intelligence and education. The President is a “scammer” and his close advisors have many years between them now knowing how to play the system. His naivity in even thinking he was qualified for to be President of the United States was his most grievious mistake and the true indication of his ego.
    What incredibly gifted leader is going to use a telepromter to give a speech to children. And his constant moaning now about how he isn’t appreciated for his foresight completely misses the reality that his gig is just about up. His wife’s statement ( could be rumor ) that she hates life in the White House could be a clear indication that she knew all along about the scam and that she just may be intelligent enough to know that things are not going to get any better and that they should probably be preparing their exit strategy.
    This all reminds me of the movie with Johnny Depp as a drug dealer, having gotten to the top, where life couldn’t get any better…. and guess what, it didn’t, he got caught, and cause a significant amount of pain for those he loved. In this case with OBAMA it is going to be a whole lot of people that feel the pain.

  2. Lawrence Marcus says:

    Jacque;
    I misspoke, you did say average intelligence and average education, in reference to the President in your last blog. I guess I agree with you on those points. Somehow I had thought you said above average or even, as those in the press say, way above average, and some even said, the most intelligent president in the history of the United States. And yet as you also pointed out previously, no one has yet to come up with his grades,tests, papers, publishing or I.Q. score?

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Larry: I keep saying the same thing: He is no monster, he is an inferior academic, a species I know well. It’s completely clear to me.

      As for your earlier dig about not having spent my formative years in the US: I did. My formative years just came quite late, in my late 20s actually. Besides, I don’t know what intellectual advantage you derive from getting blue balls in high school in American while I was studying the French classics (and failing, incidentally)!

  3. Lawrence Marcus says:

    The only “blue balls” I would have gotten in my slightly above average public high school would have been from strapping my jock on too tightly before a tennis match. No doubt you are the intellectual having spent so many years in Academia.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Well, well. Are we susceptible about blue balls! I thought I was just defending myself against the charge of being ignorant by virtue of being an immigrant. I did not bring up academia. I never do unless it’s directly relevant to what I am saying. It’s a lot like a car mechanic bringing up his work experience in a discussion of business deviousness.

      PS What’s a jock-strap?

  4. David says:

    That’s an excellent question JD, if I knew the answer to that, I would tell you. All I remember was my gym teacher telling me that we all had to wear one; he didn’t get into specifics. I’ll see if I can find an answer out from a more authoritative source.

  5. Lawrence Marcus says:

    O.K. let’s get serious again.
    As to our current President and his apparent attempt to dismantle our Constitution for his universal law all for one under the United Nations; this is what Benjamin Franklin had to say about the “Constitution of the United States”

    “I agree to this Constitution with all its faults, if they are such; because I think a general Government necessary for us, and there is no form of Government but what may be a blessing to the people if well administered, and believe farther that this is likely to be well administered for a course of years, and can only end in Despotism, as other forms have done before it, when the people shall become so corrupted as to need despotic Government, being incapable of any other. I doubt too whether any other Convention we can obtain, may be able to make a better Constitution. For when you assemble a number of men to have the advantage of their joint wisdom, you inevitably assemble with those men, all their prejudices, their passions, their errors of opinion, their local interests, and their selfish views. From such an assembly can a perfect production be expected? It therefore astonishes me, Sir, to find this system approaching so near to perfection as it does; and I think it will astonish our enemies, who are waiting with confidence to hear that our councils are confounded like those of the Builders of Babel; and that our States are on the point of separation, only to meet hereafter for the purpose of cutting one another’s throats. Thus I consent, Sir, to this Constitution because I expect no better, and because I am not sure, that it is not the best. The opinions I have had of its errors, I sacrifice to the public good. I have never whispered a syllable of them abroad. Within these walls they were born, and here they shall die”

Leave a Reply

