Radio Show

My radio show “Facts Matter” is today Sunday from 11 AM to 1 PM. It’s on KSCO Radio 1080 AM (that’s AM.). Also streamed on-line while the show is going on. See you there!

Pass it on.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Radio Show

  1. brad says:

    On your program today you took to task a woman who had written a letter to the editor of the Sentinel. You wondered whether this woman knew how much of each dollar she earned went to pay for US Defense spending.

    I wondered at the time if you meant, does she know how large a percent of her tax dollar goes to defense. But it seemed, because you repeated it, that you were after that particular odd statistic. I’m curious, what were you after? Was there some point you were going to make?

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Thanks. I think the number of cents per dollar earned is a meaningful quantity for many things, including military expenditures.

      • Brad says:

        “Thanks. I think the number of cents per dollar earned is a meaningful quantity for many things, including military expenditures.”

        We know that the US spends 4% of GDP on the military, more than twice China, our nearest rival in this statistic.

        We know that that total US military spending is around $600 billion, 6 times China’s expenditures and almost as much as the next 10 major democracies combined.

        We know that it’s some 53% of discretionary annual budgetary spending.

        But “cents per dollar earned” on an individual basis, isn’t that nearly unknowable? And meaningless? Especially since you asked the question on your show in response to a woman who’s letter to the editor suggested we could divert some defense spending to other purposes. Statistics are on her side. But maybe that was the point you were making.

  2. Lawrence Marcus says:

    Interesting subjest for your next show. The wikileaks happened under Hillary Clinton’s watch. Why hasn’t she resigned or been fired. The Head of South Korea’s Defense department resigned when North Korea lobed a couple of artillary shells into a South Korean Island. This is the biggest breach of security in this countries history, and the OBAMA administration is acting like it is just another day. This is an outright disaster to our foreign policy and last I looked, Hillary was still Secretary of State. But according to her last statement about her future plans ” I am having too much fun going around the world, funcking it up on our country’s behalf”. Hillary must be held responsible although I know the Clinton’s are infallible.
    North Korea came just in time for our President so now he won’t have to deal with our deficit and tax bill extension, he can say that as President, national security takes precedence. As the ship Pride of America, slowly sinks into the sea.
    A further note: My son in law said that he thinks he has been listening to your show from Modesto. And was impressed with what he heard! He is the one that just got out of the Marines, but says he would go back if we go to war with Iran!

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      I am glad you son in law likes what he heard (if indeed it was me. Modesto is entirely possible.) I would be honored if he called the show Sunday 11-1pm 831 479 1080.

      Wikileak does not impress me much. I have not learned anything new coming from it. I am just wondering where is the CIA Dirty tricks department when we need it.

  3. Lawrence Marcus says:

    And where was our President as North Korea threatened full out war with the U.S., and Wikileak disclosed our entire State Department’s trouve( I believe a french word) of highly secret and sensitive documents? Apperently he was, where apparently he usually is when he is hiding, on the basketball court. Gee…. who else got in trouble last year during Thanksgiving and required stitches. Why it was Tiger Woods. And look at the following year he had. You heard it here first!
    Why not cut the salaries of Federal employee’s? And how does not cutting but maintaining current levels reduce the deficit. I guess you know who must have had someone taking his math classes for him. We haven’t heard anyone yet say that he was a genius in math!

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Obama has not done anything surprising in a long time. He is now a pathetic figure. I almost feel sorry for him.

  4. Lawrence Marcus says:

    A two part test for your viewers:

    WHO ARE YOU?????????
    OLDIES BUT ….
    A young woman was about to finish her first year of college. Like
    so many others her age, she considered herself to be very liberal,
    and among other liberal ideals, was very much in favor of higher
    taxes to support more government programs, in other words
    redistribution of wealth.

    She was deeply ashamed that her father was a rather staunch
    conservative, a feeling she openly expressed. Based on the lectures
    that she had participated in, and the occasional chat with a
    professor, she felt that her father had for years harbored an evil,
    selfish desire to keep what he thought should be his.

    One day she was challenging her father on his opposition to higher
    taxes on the rich and the need for more government programs.

    The self-professed objectivity proclaimed by her professors had to
    be the truth and she indicated so to her father. He responded by
    asking how she was doing in school.

    Taken aback, she answered rather haughtily that she had a 4.0 GPA,
    and let him know that it was tough to maintain, insisting that she
    was taking a very difficult course load and was constantly
    studying, which left her no time to go out and party like other
    people she knew. She didn’t even have time for a boyfriend, and
    didn’t really have many college friends because she spent all her time
    studying.

    Her father listened and then asked, “How is your friend Audrey doing?”
    She replied, “Audrey is barely getting by. All she takes are easy
    classes, she never studies and she barely has a 2.0 GPA. She is so
    popular on campus; college for her is a blast. She’s always invited
    to all the parties and lots of times she doesn’t even show up for
    classes because she’s too hung over.”

    Her wise father asked his daughter, “Why don’t you go to the Dean’s
    office and ask him to deduct 1.0 off your GPA and give it to your
    friend who only has a 2.0. That way you will both have a 3.0 GPA
    and certainly that would be a fair and equal distribution of GPA.”

    The daughter, visibly shocked by her father’s suggestion, angrily
    fired back, “That’s a crazy idea, how would that be fair! I’ve
    worked really hard for my grades! I’ve invested a lot of time, and
    a lot of hard work! Audrey has done next to nothing toward her
    degree. She played while I worked my tail off!”

    The father slowly smiled, winked and said gently, “Welcome to the
    conservative side of the fence.”

    If anyone has a better explanation of the difference between
    conservative and liberal or progressive or neocon I’m all ears.

    If you ever wondered what side of the fence you sit on, this is a
    great test!

    If a conservative doesn’t like guns, he doesn’t buy one.
    If a liberal doesn’t like guns, he wants all guns outlawed.

    If a conservative is a vegetarian, he doesn’t eat meat.
    If a liberal is a vegetarian, he wants all meat products banned for
    everyone.
    If a conservative is down-and-out, he thinks about how to better
    his situation.
    A liberal wonders who is going to take care of him.

    If a conservative doesn’t like a talk show host, he switches channels.
    Liberals demand that those they don’t like be shut down.
    If a conservative is a non-believer, he doesn’t go to church.
    A liberal non-believer wants any mention of God and religion silenced.

    (Unless it’s a foreign religion, of course!)

    If a conservative decides he needs health care, he goes about
    shopping for it, or may choose a job that provides it.
    A liberal demands that the rest of us pay for his.

    If a conservative reads this, he’ll forward it so his friends can
    have a good laugh.
    A liberal will delete it because he’s “offended.”

    Well, I forwarded it to you.

    • brad says:

      A certain kind of conservative attempts to make his points by posing comparisons of apples to rocks. I like the kind that engages issues pragmatically, without demonization or caricature. They get things done and the result is often positive. The other kind huff, puff, pose and impede those doing the hard work.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        Brad: I agree with you. I don’t engage on demonization on my blog. I go too great pains to assert that President Obama is not evil, for example. I keep saying he is a poor deluded soul with mediocre knowledge of the world, like most second-tier academics I have known.
        You may be referring to some of the comments on my blog. I don’t censor these unless they are completely incoherent. I have not seen such in a long time.

        Hi, Brad.This being said, pragmatic dialogue goes only so far. It cannot deal with chasms in values. I, for example think that the whole liberal vision of he world is deeply immoral. There is not way to engage you on this issue pragmatically. Instead, I spend my energy comforting the views of those who feel like me but have not come to a full realization because of the garbage they are fed for 8, 10, 15 years of schooling. Nevertheless, i am pleased you look at my blog and your comments are always welcome.
        I do the same on my radio show, with some entertainment thrown in.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        Hi, Brad: I agree with you. I don’t engage in demonization on my blog. I even go to great pains to assert that President Obama is not evil, for example. I keep saying he is a poor deluded soul with mediocre knowledge of the world, like most second-tier academics I have known.

        You may be referring to some of the comments on my blog. I don’t censor these unless they are completely incoherent. I have not seen such in a long time.

        This being said, pragmatic dialogue goes only so far. It cannot deal with chasms in values. I, for example think that the whole liberal vision of he world is deeply immoral. There is not way to engage you on this issue pragmatically. Instead, I spend my energy comforting the views of those who feel like me but have not come to a full realization because of the garbage they are fed for 8, 10, 15 years of schooling. Nevertheless, I am pleased you look at my blog and your comments are always welcome.
        I do the same on my radio show, with some entertainment thrown in.

        If you don’t mind, tell me where you are writing from and how old you are. Thank you either way.

  5. Lawrence Marcus says:

    Some lessor people would think that your conservative club is too intellectual, in reply to Brad. This post merely suggested that what makes one a conservative is values that are quite simple.

    • brad says:

      Jaques,

      Thank you for you comment. Let me make clear that my paragraph beginning “a certain kind of concervative” was in reply to Lawrence Marcus’s comment.

      Now, in response to your reply, I must say that you appear to contadict yourself. On the one hand, you claim not to demonize, on the other you claim that the liberal view of the world is immoral. Demons, quite literally, are creatures without morals. It follows, then, that in your view of the world, those with liberal views are demons.

      More importantly, I worry that if you think it impossible to deal pragmatically with those of more liberal views than your own, your final vision of the correct state of things is a world without liberals. That strikes me as a very dangerous, even totalitarian point of view. Will you next pose a “final solution” for liberals? Of course not, or at least, I hope not.

      (And Lawrence, there is a difference between simple and simplistic. You don’t have to be an intellectual to know the difference. Never the less, I did think your listing amusing.)

      With respect,

      Brad

  6. Lawrence Marcus says:

    I for one doubt China is only spending 2% of GDP in their military. How do you suppose we varify that number?

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      I think we are spending a little more than 3.5% of GDP in current military expenditure. I also think that if you look hard enough, you will find reasonable concurrence of experts about how much China spends. In fact, I would bet on it.

Leave a Reply

