Murderous Political Correctness

Occupying the front page of my local paper yesterday and most of it today: an inmate’s spectacular escape from Sheriff’s custody. (The newspaper is the Santa Cruz Sentinel.)

A 24-year old country jail inmate, six foot-seven (six feet tall plus seven inches), and weighing in at 275 pounds is taken to the hospital for a routine exam. The inmate is being detained in jail to answer to charges of robbery and kidnapping. The hospital procedure involves removing his cuffs. This was known in advance. He is accompanied by a single sheriff’s deputy. As soon as his hands are free, the inmate’s grabs the deputy’s Taser and gun. The deputy gets Tased but not shot. The inmate shoots at stander-by, or maybe a civilian who tries to intervene. Fortunately, he misses before he runs away. Afterwards, he terrorizes several households including one occupied by an old couple that does not speak English. He also breaks into a child-care center. There, he obtains a teacher’s car keys by a putting a gun to her head. He gets captured after several hours.

The next day the sheriff, and the city chief of police who cooperated in the criminal’s capture, are full of self-congratulations about a job well done. In addition, the sheriff
does not have enough warm words for the good, effective conduct his Tased and disarmed deputy did in trying to prevent and in responding to the inmate’s successful escape and subsequent reign of terror. Read this sentence again!

Ok, Now, you know almost all of this moderately interesting story. Another example of incompetent law enforcement, you say. What else do you need to know? OK, the story does not say how tall, heavy, or muscular the overpowered sheriff’s deputy is. It was not reported at all. I don’t care. Here is another, more relevant piece of information: The Tased sheriff’s deputy is a woman.

The sheriff puts a female deputy- I don’t care how big and strong – in charge of a dangerous, huge, young male inmate who was scheduled to be unshackled.

No member of the officialdom and worse,of the local newspaper staff and its editorial team, find this fact worth commenting on. (They don’t.) I must say that the newspaper was honest enough though to report that some members of the public did make remarks about this.

Hello, here is one thing I and my sisters knew with perfect clarity by the time we were seven or eight: Most males are much stronger than most females. Here, you go; I said it. Shoot me!

Political correctness is not only stupid, it does not only narrow our horizons, atrophy our brains, it’s downright dangerous for the general population, including old couples who are staying home and toddlers. I will say it again:

Political correctness is criminal.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Cultural Studies, Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Murderous Political Correctness

  1. gary says:

    Jacques
    You sound a little jacked up. (!) Political correctness is what happens when people such as yourself – who do not believe in absolutes (God) have an impact on the society at large. PC is the death of right and wrong because it puts feelings in front of both facts and actions.
    When reality is taken seriously, that is when truth is not simply relative, that is when tolerance has not replaced conviction, there then remains enough sanity by which we can still live in relative safety with out everyone living in walled castles or wearing a weapon. That is what I refer to as freedom and unlike those who are political correct I see freedom as a by-product of those things which btw are collectively referred to as accountability. Yes = freedom is not an entitlement, it is the result of collective accounting for each other inside the belief in a common set of absolutes.
    I believe we are fast approaching the tipping point where what is common sense will soon be uncommon and truth then itself will be on its head.
    The cause? Allowing ourselves to live from one entertaining moment to the next and having no real sense of being accountable for ourselves.
    Case in point was a sobster who called into the Gill Gross show on KGO today who was crying on air because if the republicans in Congress have their way they will start stopping the dole. Between sobs she blamed those ___ republicans for holding up the whole economy by not loaning money, thus not creating jobs etc. It was 100% the GOPs fault. This was in fact a woman who’s victim hood mentality must find someone to blame thus no attention at all is given to being accountable.. See? The government has succeeded in displacing God. People have become so reliant on the entitlements that they do not even consider that they have all the tools necessary to fend for themselves.
    When there is no right and wrong and truth is relative – there is no accountability and thus no freedom. We are getting close to that place. And, yes it is an immoral place where truth is dialectic meaning it is close to non-existent.
    In order for accountability to exist (required for freedom) there must be a truth that is not accessible for us to own or change. It exists totally separate from us and the only thing it has to do with us is our knowledge of it and our obedience to it.
    Gary

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Gary: I rarely get “jacked up.” I don’t seen that you and I have many differences of perception or opinion except one. Now, I am getting jacked up: I believe that there is right and wrong. I don’t need a supernatural creature that sounds a lot like an angry Santa Claus on speed to teach me what they are, or to send me to the dark corner when I ignore the distinction. Nothing new here. It’s just what Jefferson, Franklin, and probably Washington believed.

  2. Dear Jocques:

    I read with interest your commentary this morning.

    From my point of view, political correctness (PC) is true liberal-generated nonsense!! I saw more and more of it at the university in my last years there prior to retiring. Now, when I interact with local college students (and others) it appears to be the norm as a way of thinking–or a way of not thinking??

    I equate PC to the use of “cliche’s” in everyday conversation–it’s a way of talking without thinking, resulting in turning a possibly interesting conversation into “trite”… I learnt this early on as an undergraduate in my first English course in college (1963). My professor was way ahead of the times, in that he also rallied against the concept of political correctness, even though he was a staunch liberal in his political leanings. Unfortunately, he was never granted tenure and left the college a few years after I took his course. Perhaps he paid the price for his way of thinking??

    It may be considered childish on my part, but I do my best to be politally incorrect whenever I have the opportunity, as a means of showing my displeasure or lack of respect with the whole concept.

    Where is our country heading??

    Steve
    Carmel Valley, CA

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Hi, Stephen: I think political correctness is a slow poison. Many of us rely on it unthinkingly as shortcuts (as in saying :gay” instead of “homosexual”). Then it become conceptual reality. I am concerned about the young who have never heard anything else. I am afraid critical thinking in the Greek mold may not survive. Being politically incorrect at every turn is not childish, I think. It’s like waking up people to the absurdity of their conceptual context. I think it often work. I doubt it ever does any harm.

      I have an essay on my blog entitled, “Why Young Women Are Stupid….” It gets a lot of visits, in a quasi-random pattern, with no promotion on my part. I think it’s mostly young women’s visits. (Guys can’t be bothered.) I have other, informal, anecdotal encouraging signs, that people in their late twenties and thirties are intrigued by the idea that they have been sold a bill of goods.

  3. David says:

    Steve,

    To answer your last question: Our country is slowly, but inexorably, going down the drain. About all we can do is try to slow down the fall. It happens to all civilizations eventually, and it seems we are on the edge of decline.

    On a more happy note…I was listening to KSCO when the criminal escaped from custody. My first question was, why was there only ONE deputy guarding the criminal? Then I wondered why only one deputy was guarding a 6 foot 7 inch 270ish pound man. I’m 6 foot 6 inches and 210 pounds, if I were in custody, I would expect they’d have at least 2 deputy’s restraining me. They ought to have had at least 3 deputy’s guarding this guy. Then I heard that the deputy in question was a women. An average human female is about 5 feet 6 inches tall or so, and, if in good shape, 130 lbs. The prisoner is would be literally twice as big as the deputy! That is just a stupid, shortsighted, and asinine decision. Good behavior or not, there is a REASON why the guy is a career CRIMINAL. When the hell did our law enforcement get so damn stupid? It’s just simple physics. A 130 lb person, cannot create enough force to impede a 270 lb person. Period. Law enforcement ought to be more concerned with the safety of the public than the feelings of an undersized deputy. In addition, men are stronger, on average, than women, pound for pound. We’re just built that way. For as much as our society puts science on a pedestal, it ignores science very regularly. An irony, methinks.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      David: You are too pessimistic. You should take vitamin b-12. The Roman Empire lasted, what, seven centuries, in the West?
      Besides, I always suspect pessimists who place themselves on the conservative side of confusing economic hegemony with the ability to preserve our institutions. A richer South Korea, casts no shadow on my garden, not even a richer VIetnam and possibly not even a richer China. Examine your heart!

      PS. “Julien Bornon” is not my email.

  4. David says:

    I’m not pessimistic, I’m realistic. All great powers have declined, particularly great powers based upon the concept of democracy. Some are still around, such as England and China, but most have been absorbed by other cultures and assimilated into other cultures. The Roman Empire did last a very long time, though not always strong. In my opinion, some of the reasons why it lasted so long was because it removed and assimilated most of the other competing powers in it’s prime, and the speed of communication was glacial in comparison to today. If trouble started in Rome, it would be months before the ends of the Empire found out.

    And besides, my analysis of why I think the US is on the decline has little to nothing to do with other countries and what they’re doing. It’s all very much internal. A large proportion of the electorate has grown accustomed to electing itself goods from the public treasury. Which will eventually bankrupt the country and leave the country sagging under a mountain of debt, which will suffocate the economy. Hopefully the recent “tea party trend” will become a lasting fixture of America and people will take responsibility for themselves and their representatives to return to the ideas of the founding fathers of limited government, but I have my doubts about that. Human nature is not inclined to freedom for long. As long as the long term trend of electing “nanny state” politicians, this country will slowly move into decline, one compromise at a time.

    • David says:

      Side note,

      “PS. “Julien Bornon” is not my email.”

      Huh? I’m not following you on that one.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        David: WordPress has just changed a number of things on me. I am not sure what you see. I see new things in what I post that are not accurate. That was just a heads up that my may have been unnecessary. Just ignore it.

        Your “pessimism.” It sounds a lot to me like the dire warning: “You are going to die” given to a twenty-year old. For sure.
        I don’t know how old you are. My sense is that you underestimate the resiliency of our institutions. It helps me that I have been there before, under Carter.
        Ask yourself if you saw the Tea Party movement coming at all.

      • David says:

        Only so much inflection can be given to text. I don’t intend to give a dire warning, just state a fact. Eventually the US will decline and at the moment the conditions appear ripe for the US to begin it’s slip into decline, if anything, the tea party movement will work to prevent that. That doesn’t mean the tea party will succeed though. As far as the US institutions, I believe the institutions are strong (they survived the Civil War), but I don’t always trust those that run them.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        David: The property of institutions is that they provide some independence from human vagaries. The primary institution in all western democracies is the legal system. It’s working in spite of corruptions and bean heads. Corruption used to be much worse, by the way. I suspect the propensity to predict does depend in part on what vitamins you take. This is not a put-down, I think it may be true. I, for example, am taking too much B-!2, hence my sunny outlook.

  5. Lawrence Marcus says:

    Thought you might like to read this letter to the editor of a British
    national newspaper. Ever notice how some people just seem to know how to
    write a letter?.

    Here is a woman who should run for Prime Minister!
    Written by a housewife, to her daily newspaper. This is one ticked off lady.

    ‘Are we fighting a war on terror or aren’t we? Was it or was it not started
    by Islamic people who brought it to our shores in July 2002, and in New York
    Sept 112001 and have continually threatened to do so since?

    Were people from all over the world, not brutally murdered that day in
    London , and in downtownManhattan , and in a field in Pennsylvania ?

    Did nearly three thousand men, women and children die a horrible, burning or
    crushing death that day, or didn’t they?

    And I’m supposed to care that a few Taliban were claiming to be tortured by
    a justice system of the nation they come from and are fighting against in a
    brutal insurgency.

    I’ll start caring when Osama bin Laden turns himself in and repents for
    incinerating all those innocent people on 9/11 and 7/7.

    I’ll care about the Koran when the fanatics in the Middle East start caring
    about the Holy Bible, the mere belief of which is a crime punishable by
    beheading in Afghanistan

    I’ll care when these thugs tell the world they are sorry for hacking off
    Nick Berg’s head while Berg screamed through his gurgling slashed throat.

    I’ll care when the cowardly so-called ‘insurgents’ in Afghanistan and the
    middle east come out and fight like men instead of disrespecting their own
    religion by hiding in mosques and behind women

    and children.

    I’ll care when the mindless zealots who blow themselves up in search of
    Nirvana care about the innocent children within range of their suicide
    bombs.

    I’ll care when the British media stops pretending that their freedom of
    speech on stories is more important than the lives of the soldiers on the
    ground or their families waiting at home to hear about them when something
    happens.

    In the meantime, when I hear a story about a British soldier roughing up an
    Insurgent terrorist to obtain information, know this:
    I don’t care.

    When I see a wounded terrorist get shot in the head when he is told not to
    move because he might be booby-trapped, you can take this to the
    bank:
    I don’t care.

    When I hear that a prisoner – who was issued a Koran and a prayer mat, and
    ‘fed special food’ that is paid for by my taxes – is complaining that his
    holy book is being ‘mishandled,’ you can absolutely believe in your heart of
    hearts:
    I don’t care.

    And oh, by the way, I’ve noticed that sometimes it’s spelled ‘Koran’ and
    other times ‘Quran.’ Well, believe me!! you guessed it ……
    I don’t care!!

    If you agree with this viewpoint, pass this on to all your E- mail friends.
    Sooner or later, it’ll get to the people responsible for this ridiculous
    behaviour!

    If you don’t agree, then by all means hit the delete button. Should you
    choose the latter, then please don’t complain when more atrocities committed
    by radical Muslims happen here in our great country! And may I
    add:

    ‘Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in
    the world. Our soldiers don’t have that problem.’

    I have another quote that I would like to add, AND…….I hope you forward
    all this.

    Only five defining forces have ever offered to die for you:
    1. The British Soldier.
    2. The Canadian Soldier.
    3. The US Soldier
    4. The Australian Soldier
    5. The Israeli Soldier
    They died for your freedom.

Leave a Reply

