The Debt Ceiling: Relax!

The President stomped out of a bi-partisan meeting on the debt ceiling yesterday. Another demonstration of maturity. The man appears to be discovering the practice of democracy. It’s dawning on him that he was not elected King or Chairman of the Supreme Soviet. Yet, there is still no sign of Obama Derangement Syndrome among conservatives. I think I know why; I have said it before: He looks like a little boy caught trying to drive his daddy’s car. You can’t hate this!

Somehow, I am not worried about a financial Armageddon. Both sides are bluffing. That’s what we are paying them for. There will be a last-minute compromise. The debt ceiling will be lifted some. There will be illusory, fake tax raises to satisfy the President’s Progressives (who rarely read in depth anyway). Some serious reform will begin to reduce our collective propensity to overspend on government. I don’t know what form it will take. Yet, for the first time in my life, I am optimistic that the federal spending beast will be durably restrained.

In the meantime, according to Michael McConnel in 7/14/11 WSJ,  President Obama and the Democratic Senate have been violating the 1974 Congressional Budget and Impoundment Act for several months now. In my view, that’s more of an impeachable offense than whatever Bill Clinton did in the Oval Office with “that woman” (whatever her name is. I wonder what she is doing now.)

About Jacques Delacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Debt Ceiling: Relax!

  1. Gary says:

    “He looks like a little boy caught trying to drive his daddy’s car. You can’t hate this!”

    Hello? I do my best to hate no man. But the analogy above is pretty silly considering the implications of the maturity level of the nation that could elect such a man. It is that level that keeps me from relaxing and likely has the globalist marionettes busier than ever using the impetus that this artificial economy can provide while such a man is (not) at the controls. The very idea that we now can have a debate over a debt ceiling rather than accounting is just wild. It is the height of immaturity itself, I mean think about this! >> We do not use the mathematical accounting and we instead simply pull a number out of the same thin air that we print money out of? Hello!???

    The assured outcome of this can be seen by watching what is happening all around us. I am taking on my mother in law, and her brother , my son has lived with his mom for 4 years since he lost his home and she and her husband are living in the garage because they took in a family down the street that lost their home. If you are above this it is likely because you are like many other academian’s living on a wonderful retirement that itself bespeaks the ludicrous but lucrative DOE that is the most damaging unconstitutional department we have in terms of creating people that have no idea of what facts are let alone that they matter.

    Obama is not just some silly willy immature child. He was GIVEN his education by that very government institution. He was graduated to do exactly what he IS doing and it is no laughing matter, especially if facts actually DO. I would say that given this scenario, not only do facts not matter this is the very proof as to why…

    The sleep that encompasses you is the same sleep that created this mess. This artificial economy is based on anything but the facts. We are in a place where even people that have an accountability based mindset are starting to buy into the sky pie entitlement theories because they can see the enormous weight of what has been accumulating for all these decades and they know what it will bring and they are thinking – hmmm not in my lifetime please. So instead of backing up carefully into a FACTS MATTER (DR RON PAUL) society where accounting and its first cousin accountability reside – we think we can live OUTSIDE OF THE FACTS and OUTLIVE the pending crisis date. The longer we wait the more the weight. The more weight the more assurance that the gobalists will get what they are pushing for. A chaos that will create a new world NON order where most of us will be dead from someone wanting what we have.. namely food.

    They say that the fluoride makes us subservient and unwilling to fight.
    I used to poo poo that idea. I am starting to believe it. Maybe this is why we are so easily led into this bliss where we are so enamored with entertainment that we try to make it ALL good – to see a certain funny irony in virtually everything. I try to be as upbeat as the next but I will tell you flat out that there will be an end to these fantasies soon and it is far from a joke. I hope you will consider drinking only non-flouridated water Jacques. If we do not elect someone who is constitutionally minded and willing to get us back inside the principles that a painful discipline provides, we will loose what is left of this once great land. There will be no great grandchildren to pass the weight off on. And no you will not be able to take that to the bank because there will not be one. The bank instead will have taken it to you.

    GaryK

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Gary:

      I have no choice but to drink non-fluoridated water. The other kind was outlawed in my leftwingnut town of Santa Cruz years ago. I take my fluoride from my toothpaste. It does help preserve my teeth. I am not much more stupid or supine than I was thirty years ago. If fluoride lowered my IQ a little, it’s a good trade-off: less brain, better teeth. It enhances the chance I will transmit my genes.

      I think the retirement living I amassed during my thirty years in academia is quite modest. Of course, I would think this. I am sorry, I did not manage the dire poverty your describe. I did my best, arriving here as the proverbial penniless immigrant. Yet, I don’t think it’s my moral obligation to be very poor, or simply poor.

      Your words of spite about academia, I think are not based on any facts. I suspect you know next to nothing about what academics do.

      There is a lot of unexplained bitterness in what you write but I will continue to host it.

  2. David says:

    It is a funny situation…in a sad way…they’re arguing over how much to raise their credit limit and who they’re going to take money from for their irresponsible spending habits.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      That is not correct, David: The Republican Party – with the Tea Party breathing down its neck – is trying to extract reduced spending habits in return for raising the debt limit. That’s the first time I remember a serious such attempt. Incidentally, once you admit that there is a federal government, there is nothing fundamentally wrong about having some national debt. There is obviously nothing wrong about limiting the debt by law (the debt ceiling).

      • David says:

        Last I checked, they’re fighting for future spending cuts, not current ones, which means that it will take time to see if they do, in fact, take effect and to what extent these measures will have. Granted, I’m not getting minute to minute updates on this, and I don’t doubt that they’re doing their best to make them effective (I hope they do), but I take the phrase “future spending cuts” with a whole pile of salt.

        I do not doubt the validity of the federal government, nor do I doubt the validity of having some amount of federal debt, but I do recognize that spending beyond their means has been a bit of a serious trend as of late; at least as long as I’ve been alive, notwithstanding a few outliers in the data.

        And the Democrats are also pushing hard for “new revenues” to help with the deficit. So as best I can see the situation, there are likely going to be current tax hikes of some kind, the promise of future spending cuts, and a larger credit limit for congress to continue their trend of over-spending. Especially with Obama-care around the corner. (IF it gets through the Supreme Court.) They’re raising their credit card limit, while seeing who they can make pay for it. That doesn’t mean they won’t cut (or promise to cut) some of their own spending.

        Personally, I hope that the future spending cuts have real teeth and that the Federal government does seriously pare back the spending binge it’s been on the last decade or so. But I suspect we’ll be back discussing this same issue in a few years, especially if Obama-care passes through the Supreme Court. Of course, how long will depend on how much the debt ceiling is raised. We will see when they come out with their compromise.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        Lots of pessimism which is understandable. I only have subjective arguments to support the idea that this time, its different. For one thing, the relevant discussion has never been so public.

        “Future cuts” may easily mean tomorrow.

        There are good devices to ensure that the cuts don’t turn into empty promises. Our elected resp aren’t all stupid or dishonest.

        In the past, federal deficit spending was done almost entirely with popular assent (even if passive assent). It’s not true today, not even close.

  3. Thomas says:

    I wonder what the television coverage on his hotly – debated subject is like lately? It seems that even the most remedial coverage through any media channel calls for the “more” or “better” Americans, those with a better case of righteous indignation, to carry the day here. The suggestion by the President that “It’s time to eat our peas,” and so forth an appropriate scolding for children who have little idea of the impact overall of a default. Most people in Congress do remember the budgetary debate under Clinton that stopped the federal government for a while, and this need not be forgotten. Nor need be forgotten the games that have been played, mostly under everyone’s noses, with public finance and the deficits, the value of the dollar, public indebtedness and other features adding up to the current standstill. It is important as well that any agreement not completely sacrifice nor the Treasury nor the national bank, and that might be impossible. Thank you for your commentary on the metaphorical “driving” of things, Dr. Delacroix.

  4. David says:

    This is just tangentally related to this particular topic, but I wanted to share it. I presently work at Wendy’s. Which means I do just about everything in the store at one point or another. I was working the register at the pick-up window. (PUW for the sake of brevity.) A man comes up and orders a combo with the chili substituting for the fries. He does this near the end of a rush and sounds like he knows exactly what he wants, so I don’t try to sell him anything he probably doesn’t want, in any case, I’ve got three cars in front of him I need to keep moving. A couple minutes pass and this gentleman arrives at the window and asks me if there is cheese and onions on the chili. I tell him I didn’t hear him ask for it (cause he sounded like he knew what he wanted. Believe it or not you learn who you are likely able to successfully suggestively sell stuff too, just after a few seconds, but I digress.). He stiffens up and looks at me incredulously and says, “Everyone else always asks me if I want cheese and onions!” I proceed to tell him that we can certainly add cheese and onions to his chili, it’ll just cost less than 50 cents to do so. He tells me to forget it and grumbles as he drives away. Fair enough I suppose, but I was struck by a thought at that point, he KNEW he wanted cheese and onions on his chili, but he DIDN’T bother saying anything about because he EXPECTED to be asked about it. He expected the operator at the PUW to think for him. That is a very dangerous person. I can only imagine what he does when he watches the evening news. (IF he does…) I began to wonder how many people have this type of thought process. In my non-scientific estimates at the PUW, I’d say at least 60% have a similar attitude to the genetleman I described above. They don’t say /think of anything unless I told them. I know that is only anecdotal, but it is a larger figure than I was expecting. Makes me wonder what these people think of (or don’t) the debt ceiling issue. Then again, I’m not sure I want to know.

  5. Gary says:

    David, you said;

    ” He expected the operator at the PUW to think for him. That is a very dangerous person. I can only imagine what he does when he watches the evening news. (IF he does…)”

    I appreciate your ability to think for yourself too. And, think about this: Maybe it is not IF he watches the news, it is BECAUSE he watches the news?

    I believe that it (TV) is precisely the reason that people do not think for themselves. >>and way beyond that is the reason we have a whole electorate that can be and is manipulated into a complacency that has let
    their government be hi-jacked. The same complacency that will at some point in the future crush us. Yes, Jacques, the weight of the debt, both economic and moral that we have been taught well by those who foisted it upon them.

    We have been fed a new correctness, it has replaced the truth, and soon the debt consumer will be consumed. There are only two kinds of accounting happening, the common man diligently accounting for every penny so the artificial government is appeased, and you can count on those who have the bulk of your debt tax to destroy the truth of the constitution with those dollars as they become your feudalist fathers.

    Freedom is not entitled it is a result. Freedom of conscience has become freedom from a conscience where the end result is far from freedom. It is the truth that sets us free, not correctness. Political correctness is steering us away from the only accounting that matters.

    So I am not too relaxed around the debt ceiling Jacques .. I am stressed about it. A stress that most think is bad and is killing them when in fact if they acted on it it would save them.

    GaryK

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Gary: You are welcome to express yourself here but the fact is that you id not address anything I said except the title. (My titles are usually misleading. It’s the newswhore in me.)

  6. Gary says:

    “I am not much more stupid or supine than I was thirty years ago.”

    Collectively, none of us have a clue as to the degree of our own decline.
    As the change occurs ever so slow we are unaware. The older you get the more you see it though.. GK

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      The way I check on my age=related decline or progress is to compare my writing of then with my writing of now. At this point, it’s 95% progress. (Touch wood, of course.)

  7. Gary says:

    To add to the thought above:
    The older we get the more we see what matters and that it is not about our comforts and our stuff as much as it is about people and relating. The duration of our lives should humble us when we see both the decline in ourselves and the legacy we failed to leave in the clueless generation that we watch voting to be entitled rather than voting to assume
    being accountable for the constitution. The older I get the more I want to make up for the years I wasted being entitled because the older I get the more I see freedom not as a right but as a result. The more we see freedom as a right the more of it we lose. GK

Leave a Reply

