Jobs and College

Big confusion coming to the fore on the occasion of reporters interviewing of “Occupy” militants. One young guy interviewed on NPR has $120,000 college debts. That is simply tragic. He majored in “German Studies.” More power to him but there was never any promise, explicit or implicit that his major would connect him to a job. The higher education contract for years has been that a degree will not give you a job unless it’s in Accounting or in one of several Engineering fields. If you want to be sure of a job, learn plumbing. When the young man was asked a direct question about his knowledge of the German language, he ducked. His English is not very good either. ( He said, “Very unique.”) I know I sound mean. That’s an expression of the bitterness I feel as a former college professor. I spoke loud then but I did not speak loud enough. Half of the students who went through my classes should not have been there at all. We deceived them like those merchants who post liquidation sales all year long. Or rather, professors kept silent when university administrators were engaging all around us in deceptive sales practices.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jobs and College

  1. Bruce says:

    “Yeah dude, seriously, German Studies with a minor in Math, it was gruelingly brutal but it was worth it, you know what I mean? Like, I just want to make a difference and give back to the planet you know? This is very stressful takin it to the man, anybody wana twist one up, whose got a lighter?” It’s a better bet is that he’s just your garden variety natural born loser being paid minimum wage by the Left and hoping to score some stray poontang courtesy of a female counterpart. The really dangerous thing about a weak economy is that law schools fill up with students with these unmarketable degrees and three years later they emerge hungry for lawsuits to file. Locusts come to mind. Many of them end up with lifetime government regulatory jobs that neither party can seem to reduce.
    The “Occupy” bunch are there to “occupy” as much media air time as possible to divert attention to all the other issues swirling around the failed Obama administration.
    I might not have been in the upper half of your class at Indiana, but I actually did learn some valuable lessons from you.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Well put. I like the “stray poontang” although the words age you a little. I did not know you were in my class in Indiana. What year and what class?

      • Bruce says:

        It was a sociology class around 1975.
        By the way, not much coverage of Obama’s sending troops into Uganda. Bush had to get permission from Congress. I know we’re doing it to prosecute the Lord’s Resistance Army leader Joseph Kony who is a monster. I’m not opposed to helping people who help us- Uganda did send troops to Somalia. Just do it constitutionally. I wonder if Jeremiah Wright and Louis Farrakhan approved.
        One final note. I think all these Republican debates being moderated by Leftist media types is a bad idea. We run the danger of having a walking wounded candidate up against the well rested and unchallenged teleprompter president.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        I am blessed on this blog with perceptive commentators like you. Must a be a sign of divine favor in a small way or maybe, you learned huge amounts from me back in 1975! So, you took a class from me at Indiana University, right?

  2. Bruce says:

    It was Indiana, and I played a little rugby too. I really enjoy your blog, your range of topics is wide and your analysis is very thought provoking. It does a lot more to keep my mind active and healthy than your tofu and sprouts neighbors in Santa Cruz. We have them here in Atlantic Beach, FL too. They’re such sad anemic looking creatures, I have to think it’s the mountains of liberal guilt they feel that makes them appear so worn out. When my wife and I go for coffee on the weekends we observe them. I try and say something politically incorrect that can be easily overheard by one of these Birkinstocker women or mom jean wearing dudes. That really brings out the look.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Wrong approach! You scare the hell out of them and they want to roll on their backs to get their bellies scratched. You have to entrap them.
      I wish I could see a picture of you . It bothers me to know we may have played Rugby together and yet I don’t remember who you are. Speaking of Rugby, I think it formed my intellectual style more than four years of graduate schools and thirty years in academia.

Leave a Reply

