Sexual Harassment and Me (Part 2)

Once in my academic career, I was blackballed from a job I wanted in an outfit where I was wanted. The blackballer was a woman. What happened is that the relevant department voted to offer me a job with a unanimous vote but one. The one voting against derived her disproportionate power from the fact that she was the only female in the department. The department spokesman told me clearly that his colleagues did not want to ignore the single female vote. The blackballer never explained her vote except by saying that my presence would make her “uncomfortable.” (If she had ever said anything else, academia being what it is, it would have come back to me for sure.)

The woman was not a stranger. She had received her doctorate from the same university as I. Our times there had overlapped although I was senior to her in every respect. We had had numerous interactions, all cordial and courteous. We were not friends but I had several opportunities to give her help on professional matters. Each time at her request.. The last time I had seen the woman before she blackballed me had been a year earlier. On that occasion, she had said goodbye to me by kissing me on both cheeks. (She had kissed me, not the reverse.) Incidentally, there was no way of not knowing that I was married.

The woman was fairly intelligent and professionally competent. (Years later, her academic accomplishments confirm this judgment.) She was also less attractive than average. I mean that I would not have engaged in sexual commerce with her unless she had been the last woman on earth. And even then… . I am sure this detail has nothing to do with my story, of course. You know as much as I do. What do you think?

Post-script:  Several people have asked me what’s the point of this story. I am flabbergasted but here it is: I suffered a serious career handicap, my children were deprived of several years of economic prosperity during the crucial years when they could and should have been in private schools because I refrained from behavior that many would identify as  “sexual harassment.” I mean propositioning a colleague or, at least, acting flirty with her. Am I posing as a victim deserving of reparation? No, I am just reminding you of the obvious: Down on the ground, things are not simple in the area of non-sexual sex relations. And also: It’s not only men who are sex beasts and when they are not, they often pay for this lacuna. I will stop right here before I am accused of bragging, of course.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Cultural Studies, Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sexual Harassment and Me (Part 2)

  1. Martin Anding says:

    I think you should stop trolling for suckers to start a discussion with.

  2. You should have been your French self instead, to be a perfect gentleman to a beautiful woman, is giving her the cold shoulder, to a plain woman is cruel, but American women are soooooo difficult, nothing is good enough, I really feel sorry for American men in general.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Disclosure: I am married to the commenter.
      If I understand you right, I should have been a real man and taken the ugly woman to bed. Right? By the way, she knew all along that I was married. (to you).

  3. Terry Amburgey says:

    I can’t help but wonder if I know the professor in question….🙂

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      You do but it’s irrelevant.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Terry: You do know herbut it’s irrelevant. And there is no reason to hurt that person. She has hurt herself enough.

      • David says:

        In my no so professional opinion, you’re very presence was a turn on for her and she was uncomfortable with how her physiology responded to your presence. It must have been the your unique musk that got her all riled up.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        First things first, David: You know how American guys always worry that Frenchmen get more? THEY DO!
        I have a different speculative explanation: I had the right profile (in every way) to validate that woman in her own eyes. All I had to do what to give her chance to say,”No,” to me. Like a boor, I did not give her the chance.

  4. Thomas H. says:

    Given your story, it reads like the lady you are telling about was trying to give you problems and romance or sex, or emotions of any kind, had very little to do with it – a classic example of causing a “fight” (‘hey, let’s [you and him] fight’) between you and her and then you and your own authorities. She was obviously calling for some sort of fight. Good day.

  5. Bruce says:

    Sex crime is terrible and should be punished under our existing laws. Period. Much of the current “sexual harrassment” has nothing to do with anything even remotely like it. It comes down to power. In essence, it’s just another example of the Left using government to level the playing field. The sexual harassment angle gives any woman a leg up in the workplace. Plain and simple, they used the same civil rights mold to develop a hammer that can be used pretty much any time they want. Here is what that power looks like: I make a charge, true or false, I get paid to leave the hostile environment or I get promoted to work elsewhere. It’s a business decision the company makes. If it costs the company $250K to go to court and prove the charge was baseless or $200K to make the issue go away, they have a choice. The only difference would be if we ever held the accuser liable for making false claims, but the Left calls anything like that retaliation and you pay more. There is an entire industry build around it. Of course they don’t actually produce anything, they are parasites. We have given them real power. It’s a total violation of equal protection but the ignorant electorate does not seem to mind. I have been lucky, I had limited exposure to this threat in the military and elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

