1944

In 1944, the Nazis were well on their way to starving to death my father and my mother. My mother was breastfeeding me so, indirectly, they were beginning to starve me too. Mind you, the French were among the best treated by the Nazi beast. The people of other occupied countries mostly had it worse. That summer, tens of thousands of American soldiers, armed to the teeth, riding in thousands of trucks, accompanied by myriads of tanks, scattering food rations like pennies, liberated me. Excuse me if I like American military might! I just hope I am not witnessing the end of the pax americana through indecision, bad faith, lack of intellectual courage.
Thank you veterans.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Cultural Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1944

  1. gary says:

    Jacques
    You are more than welcome .. I take no direct kudos to myself but only for those who inDEED DID liberate you to life. Thank you for your contribution in turn. GK

  2. Martin Anding says:

    Have you every wondered how Hitler got as far as he did, creating a nation state where the population was either hoodwinked into to believing they were the master race and should rule the world and dissent from that belief was not tolerated? The common German didn’t wasn’t born ready to kill or starve everyone in sight. It took years of propaganda and coercion to get millions of Germans into uniform and overrunning France. It is good that the Americans showed up in 1944 to save the day with food and liberation. I’m glad we did it. But 1944 was really the endgame. Without WWI and the treaty of Versailles Hitler would have died an unknown. Wars don’t spring up like summer flowers. Neither do events like Kristallnacht. There are nurtured by ignorance, fear and jealously. I think we should think about avoiding the next war rather than making sure with enough weapons, death and pain we can win it. Call me a wimp or a libertarian as you wish.
    But in case I didn’t make myself clear earlier Thanks to the veterans.

  3. jacquesdelacroix says:

    You are not a wimp, Martin but, like all thorough libertarians, you adhere dogmatically to a doctrine that does not send up to any examination. Your reading a twentieth century history shows this. Hitler did not “create a nation-state,” Bismarck did it years before WWII. It did not take much effort to get millions of Germans in uniform and over-runing France. It was a bad habit Germans had then. Kristallnacht was straight out of the barrel of rotten apples of German anti-Semitism going back at least to Luther. (I will post a sick joke about this when I have time.) The Versailles Treaty was a bad conclusion to WWI, granted. Yet, it only aggravated the misery the German people had been suffering much before the war ended. They were in the arms of extremists before the first Versailles negotiations began.

    Here is what would have made a difference in terms of stopping Hitler. In March 1936, Hitler marched a small fraction of his small army into the Rhineland, in violation of two treaties Germany had signed. If the French had not been weak-kneed or distracted (as usual), they would have immediately send a big fraction of their big army and air force to oppose the move, and if necessary, to massacre the German soldiers. That would have stopped the re-militarization of Germany. It could easily have caused Hitler’s fall because public sentiment in Germany at the time was overwhelmingly in favor of peace.

    In 1940, the US was making pacifist noises and if its armed force were similar in size to those of Portugal. Had the US possessed then normal armed forces for its size, he Japanese fascists would not have tried the Pearl Harbor gambit . According to the former Japanese officers and politicians who have spoken on the subject, America’s military weakness invited an attack, in lieu of a normal war they knew they could not win.

    All the police forces in the world will tell you the same thing: To avoid riot violence in the streets, the best thing you can do is to show off large number of police officers to the would-be rioters: Flout overwhelming force to avoid violence. There is no reason why this principle does not apply to war.

  4. Bruce says:

    I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to serve the people of this great nation.
    It was an honor and priviledge made possible by my brothers and sisters who came before me. Their sacrifices are legendary.
    I am also humbled by the enormous dedication and ability our warriors are demonstrating on a daily basis today. They are more capable than I was and get better all the time.
    Thanks to the American people for making this the greatest country on earth.

  5. jacquesdelacroix says:

    I hope you believe me when I say that after reading your short essay I choked and I think one tear find itself on my cheek…I’m not trying to sound “Schmaltzy” but the stuff is really powerful and to the point…I trust too much the American people to trust that “indecision,bad faith and lack of intellectual courage” won’t happen in the future (I’m also always an optimist)…BRAVO!!! [Emailed by Filip, another immigrant.]

Leave a Reply

