My Story Telling: An Update

I am working on my memoirs, “I Used to Be French: An Immature Autobiography.” I am trying to wrap up. And no, I am not whining, I am bragging: I have trouble finishing because every time I proofread, I come up spontaneously with good additional material I want to incorporate.

The new material comes in two kinds. One kind is  anecdotal details that would liven up or flesh out  the existing text. This happens because writing is thinking and it fires up the memory part of the brain. As I write, I keep remembering things I did not know I had even stored.

The second material trying to press itself into my narrative is made up of linkages between the past and the present. It comprises many illustrations of the idea that “the child is father to the man.”

This blog is cutting into my re-write time. It’s a problem.

Incidentally, if you know an agent or a publisher, don’t be shy about asking me for excerpts to send. There are links  here to excerpts already on this blog but they are links to text that is now fairly obsolete. Use those if you wish anyway. Thank you.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Story Telling: An Update

  1. Terry Amburgey says:

    Quit lollygagging around and finish the revision. I want to see what the new version looks like.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Please, refresh my memory. I don’t know what I was revising.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Terry: Sorry; I got it. We are talking about my memoirs. On its way. I am not lolly…. (What do you call it?) Instead, I don’t know where or why to stop revising. Interesting stories keep coming up. Moreover, the didactic implications of the narrative of my little life also keep cropping up. It’s as if I were reading a mature draft and its logical lessons became apparent to me because it was the first time I read it well. For example, I have a couple of new pages on cooking stoves in rural France in the fifties, on their fairly high functionality, followed by informed speculation about why technical innovations may not be adopted for a long time. A part of me thinks this is good pop-sociology. But then, I would think that, wouldn’t I? I only have my intuitive sense that his is good stuff to guide me, plus a single literate alert reader in my neighborhood. She is a woman of culture and not a sociologist. Of course, there is always the danger that she is hot for me that this fact undermines her judgment. Story of my life!

Leave a Reply

