Paul Vindicated by Crackpot; Dr D. Confounded and Humbled!

Recently, I posted several short essays suggesting or affirming that Republican candidate Paul has little respect for facts. I gave several examples and challenged his followers to explain, account, reference. My last challenge concerned the Congressman’s statement to the effect that the chief of Mossad had affirmed that Iranian nuclear weapons were not an existential threat to Israel. With respect to that latest challenge to Congressman Paul and to his followers, I stand instructed by Brandon Christensen ( alias CrackpotCrackshot). He sent me an activable link to an article in English in the on-line edition of the left-wing Israeli newspaper Haaretz. I reproduce the title of the piece below.

  • Published 01:23 29.12.11
  • Latest update 01:23 29.12.11

Mossad chief: Nuclear Iran not necessarily existential threat to Israel

How is this for leaving no ambiguity behind?

Thus, Mr Paul did not (NOT) make up the statement contrary to what I had feared and wondered aloud. And I am glad that at least one Paul supporter is interested in establishing his leader’s factual accuracy.

The body of the article explains that three Israeli ambassadors came out of a closed meeting with 97 other of their colleagues reporting that the Mossad head had made the statement. I have no opinion about whether the statement was made as reported because I am nearly certain the Mossad chief may not comment or confirm in public what he said in a closed meeting. To me, the statement, as explained in the body of the article of reference, is believable as coming from a responsible intelligence source. What was apparently meant was that Israel as a state would survive even an Iranian nuclear attack. I believe this is more likely to be true than not

Israel has a little fewer than 8 million people including a large Arab minority.* Suppose Iran succeeded in detonating four or five nuclear devices over the Greater Tel Aviv area and over a few other population centers, probably not including Jerusalem because it would trigger massive enmity in the Muslim world. With a nuclear assault on that very concentrated population, it’s possible that as many as one million Jewish Israelis and one hundred thousand Arab Israelis and others would die on the spot. An additional 500,000 might be severely injured.

Under this hypothesis, it’s not impossible to speculate that the State of Israel would survive as such. It would almost certainly emerge as an economic ruin with diminished capacity to defend itself against further, conventional assault, by Egyptian tanks, for example. A surviving Israel might also become demoralized overall and witness big Jewish emigration or, alternatively, it might come back in the guise of a cobra, ready and willing to devastate its neighbors at the slightest hint of aggressiveness on their part.

As you can imagine, if I had any responsibility for Israel’s safety and if I thought this scenario likely, I would push for a preemptive strike on Iran without needing to believe that its nuclear weapons “posed an existential threat to Israel.” My main target would be the country’s nuclear facilities. My first target, however, would be the homes of the ruling mullah clique.

And, if you are wondering, I am not even Jewish. Nor am I one of those born-again Christians who think Israel’s existence is a pre-condition to the Second Coming. And if you are one of those, who also think the Second Coming will involve The Rapture, can I please have your car?

More soon on Congressman’s Paul credibility.

* I refer here to Arabs who are citizens of Israel. I do not refer to the Arab population of the West Bank currently more or less under Israeli military control.

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Paul Vindicated by Crackpot; Dr D. Confounded and Humbled!

  1. Terry Amburgey says:

    Amazing, I agree in every respect.

  2. Bruce says:

    I think it’s only a matter of time before Israel takes care of business. My recipie: Surgically remove the top 100 players in the enemy’s leadership and their immediate families all at once. Repeat as necessary.
    “Let me figure out how to take care of you.” Tony Soprano
    Happy Valentines Day!

  3. Martin Anding says:

    Jacques, Recently you also challenged RP’s statement about more contributions from the Military. Well I did find some backup to RP’s statement. Here it is:
    http://www.armytimes.com/news/2012/02/military-ron-paul-gets-most-military-donations-020912w/

Leave a Reply

