Organic Food: What We Know – A Summary.

This is a nice politically incorrect list of comments and questions to my essay entitled: “Organic Food and Red Herrings.” It was sent by a reader named “Bruce.”  I think it’s a nice summary that deserves its own page. I will give equal time to the other side if it manifests itself.

1 Are organic foods more nutritious? Not yet clear if they are.
2. Are organic foods safer? Organic and non organic foods do not exceed government safety thresholds.
Source: Mayo Clinic
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/organic-food/NU00255
Now for pure opinion:
1. The hormones fed to animals seem to have increased the size of women’s breasts over the years which is not a bad thing. Personal unscientifically tested observation here.
2. I have been tricked into buying organic milk at The Fresh Market since it looks just like the regular stuff unless you notice the price. Wow, $5 for a gallon of 2%?
3. Using “natural” fertilizer (manure) can expose us to e coli bacteria.
4. Without chemicals and genetically enhanced foods, there would be a major loss of production. This would lead to starvation, especially where people are currently struggling to survive. Guess it’s better people starve than evil capitalist pig 1%er fertilizer companies like Monsanto make obscene profits.
5. The people selling “organics” look scraggly and under-nourished to me. Maybe it’s the German leather dye in the Birkenstocks. Some of the women might look fine if you just got a couple of burgers in them.for a while.
6. If not for genetic engineering, chemical fertilizers and hybridization, marijuana would not be nearly as potent as it is today. I don’t use due to my job, but have it on good authority that you don’t have to work nearly as hard as before.
7. I’ve heard that if you cut a tomato in half and tell a person one was grown organically and one was not, they will rate the half organically grown to be better tasting. Might all just be psychological.
8. If all food is not organic, then what is inorganic food? What does it look like?
9. There are so many other things that people can do to promote good health and most people choose not to do them. This provides First Lady Michele Obama an opportunity to exercise her do as I say, not as I do hypocrisy when it comes to those White House French fries.
10. The government encourages this debate since it justifies expanding bureaucracy to study, evaluate and regulate which is what they do best.
11. Organic food feeds the need a certain element in our population has to feel superior. It’s the same thing as driving a Prius hybrid, expensive but perfectly in concert with the smug “why does it seem I’m the only one who cares” look.
12. I do grow a lot of my own produce and always have. It’s one of the things I enjoyed doing with my dad and I just carried on the tradition. I use Miracle Grow fertilizer and Seven Dust and they taste great. Vine ripened Beefsteak tomatoes always do. I wash them off in the sink before eating them. It’s not because I want to save the earth, it’s because it’s fun to watch things grow.

About Jacques Delacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Cultural Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Organic Food: What We Know – A Summary.

  1. Terry Amburgey says:

    Why are you slandering German leather dye? The Germans have had a first rate chemical industry for ages.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Slandering the Germans is fun because they are never completely sure they are innocent.

      • David says:

        @Terry, didn’t their first rate chemical industry get them into a wee bit of trouble in the 1940’s, after a certain minor military conflict? And speaking as a descendant of mostly German immigrants (both sides of my family skipped out of Europe just before the French Revolution and Napolean’s subsequent attempt at taking over the world) Germans are never really innocent; they’re just less guilty than someone else.

      • jacquesdelacroix says:

        Same topic: I recommend my own long short story: “The Germans and Me”

  2. Thomas H. says:

    One might have cause to mention here every food is organic anyway – “organically grown” or not – as “organic” chemistry is used to produce the supposedly modified foods we eat, all of us. That parts of us grow bigger when we eat certain foods is a given, and as well that organic food vendors can look a little scraggly. Indeed, I have not really ever met anyone who does not like french fries by virtue of trying them at least once in a while; and by virtue of labeling some things organic in the food store and at home, this does generate more interest in just ordinary foodstuffs, even preference as you have mentioned. This is a great column today, and yes, people like me do enjoy the classic beefsteak tomatoes on our sandwiches from fast – food.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Thomas: I hope you noticed that the column is by a reader named Bruce. I just started the ball rolling with an original piece reporting on my persecution of a young friend about the superfluously high cost of organic food.

      • Thomas H. says:

        Yes, and you are artful as ever to illustrate that “myths,” such as “organic” foods are indeed expensive. For me, the stuff is too high – cost, and is not interesting nor tasty for the palate.

  3. David says:

    In response to opinion #1…I don’t see any problem with larger breasts. If anything…that makes the world a much better place! You won’t hear me complain about larger breasts on women. 😉

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      David: I concur and you give me a chance to share here a scientific observation. Fifty years ago, fewer women you saw in public seemed happy. I think the difference is that now, thanks to the wonder bar and other modern inventions more women are able to sustain the illusion. Again, that’s speaking as a scientist only!

  4. David says:

    Just tried to get random women to permit me to determine the size of their busts. They weren’t cooperative. I guess they don’t let random men near their busts, even for scientific research.

Leave a Reply

