Ryan, Liberals and Me, Lite

 Don’t read this if you have something important to do.

Pieces and bits and fragments on a lazy, sunny Sunday afternoon before I go to the beach with  the woman who dominates my life. (That would be a three-year old grand-daughter who calls me “Daddy,” earning me admiring glances from many Mexican ladies of all ages. _ Yes, I call them as I see them. Screw political correctness!)

Romney’s nomination of Rep. Ryan was the intellectually respectable thing to do. It was not the most sexy thing he could have done in pure electoral terms. Romney’s choice indicates a determination to talk to the American people as adults about our monumental long-term economic problems. It’s a brave strategy. It puts our money where our mouth is. It makes me a little nervous nevertheless. Of course, it’s difficult to  tell people, ” The party is over; we have to pay the bill; plus, we have to clean up.”

Yesterday, I spent the evening in the hills behind Santa Cruz with my family and with a younger man we all like. He is an emigrant like me and my wife. He describes himself as a moderate liberal. A propos of  I  don’t remember what he spoke disparagingly of “conservative propaganda.” Of course, I asked him to be specific; of course, it was a dirty rotten trick. The name “Rush Limbaugh” came right near the top of his list. I asked how often he had listened to Limbaugh. You can guess the rest of the story.

People like my friend are not really lying. They are on automatic for some or part of their thinking. Would I say anything negative about any of the mean fools at MSNBC without listening to them a length? No, not ever, not under any circumstances! Today, there is no equivalence between left and right and the truth is nowhere near the middle.

Please, note again that I never, never (well, almost never) fight with strawmen. My lib friend is a smart guy with good credentials and a successful businessman to boot. He can take care of himself. And I will say anew that I had no animus toward him when I asked my  repulsive, disgusting question about his experience with Limbaugh. In fact, he had just bought me a good burger and several beers. Not Limbaugh, the lib friend. Not many libs invite me to anything actually. Mostly it’s because they are too lazy, or they don’t have the nerve to build a pyre beforehand.

A few weeks ago, I confessed on this blog to episodes of irrationality. Here is another.

Three years ago, a young woman who wanted to learn sailing entered her name on my cell-phone. She took one sailing lesson and then, she drifted or disappeared from my haunts. Never saw her, never heard from her for three years. Saturday morning past, for no reason, I deleted her name and number. That was about 10 am. At about 3pm, I bumped into her on the street.

What am I supposed to think? And, I know what you think based on a vaguely remember class on probabilities  you took years ago. But, the fact, is that I have not deleted ten people in my whole life (10!). Or, is it like being struck by lightening: very unlikely and meaningless?

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Socio-Political Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ryan, Liberals and Me, Lite

  1. I have stuff to do and I still read it. Unfortunately. Paul Ryan is a Congressman, not a Senator. C’mon Dr. J!

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      I stand corrected, head humbly down.

      But isn’t it true that a “Congressman” is a member of Congress and therefore a Senator or a Representative?

      Fact remains. Ryan is not (NOT) a Senator as I stated in a moment of wild abandon.

  2. Bruce says:

    I like Ryan. He grew up in Janesville, Wisconsin which is a nice midwestern town and still lives there. He proposed to his wife while ice fishing so he can’t be all bad. Seriously, I think Romney made a bold choice because he was not just thinking about what demographic his selection would please. Picking Rubio to capture the Hispanic vote, even though not all Latinos throw down with the Cubans. It’s funny you called him Senator, but you get a pass this time because Joe Biden called him Governor the other day. Saw a good GOP ad the other day, basically said “You tried. He tried. It’s OK to change”. This is directed to the non people-of-color folks who voted for Obama to feel better about themselves and prove to themselves they’re not really racist after all.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Good. I can make small mistakes because I have watchdogs. And, I by the way, am not a racist: It’s a the white half of Obama I don’t like.

Leave a Reply

