An Etiquette Column?

I am thinking of opening an etiquette rubric on this blog. It would not be for me to dispense etiquette advice but to solicit it. I am often perplexed these days. An example:

From the standpoint of political correctness, in bad traffic, is it worse to call a man or a woman a “bitch”?

 

About jacquesdelacroix

I am a sociologist, a short-story writer, and a blogger (Facts Matter and Notes On Liberty) in Santa Cruz, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Etiquette Column?

  1. jimkress says:

    The worst thing you can call the is “obamaite”.

  2. bobby says:

    I would say calling a man a bitch is worse than the same epithet for a woman. A Bitch-Man is emasculated, weak. A Bitch-Woman … is not really changed by the word. Calling a woman a cunt, however …

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      Thanks. Bobby. That’s useful. . I am always amazed by the high level of discernment and by the broad cultural understanding of my readers!

  3. Henry says:

    I guess I would agree with bobby.

    • jacquesdelacroix says:

      NO, no, no! The question was not about what you think is more insulting. It was about what was the most politically incorrect. Follow, me: “Bitch” is feminine, Calling a man a bitch is calling him female. That might be a compliment, no?

Leave a Reply

